IPEEC is an autonomous partnership of nations founded in 2009 by the Group of 8 (G8) to promote collaboration on energy efficiency. Its membership now includes 17 of the Group of 20 (G20) economies, which represent over 80% of global energy use and over 80% of global greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions (OECD, 2015).

Since the inception of IPEEC, its members have been working together and partnering with other international organisations and private entities to identify and implement policies that hasten the deployment of energy efficient technologies and best practices.

IPEEC provides information to decision-makers in major economies, facilitating candid discussions for exchanging ideas and experiences and helping countries undertake joint projects to develop and implement energy efficiency policies and measures at a global scale. It is also a forum for member and non-member economies to share information about various bilateral and multilateral initiatives.

The IPEEC Secretariat organises meetings of the Policy Committee and Executive Committee, provides support to existing task groups, and maintains communication among IPEEC members and the broader energy policy community.


IPEEC is managed by a secretariat hosted by the International Energy Agency in Paris, France, and governed by two committees.

  • The Policy Committee (currently chaired by Mexico) governs IPEEC’s overall framework and policy initiatives, and evaluates the progress of IPEEC’s work within the context of broad strategic priorities.
  • The Executive Committee (currently chaired by France) adopts the proposals of member countries and examines membership requests. It also develops proposals for task groups, monitors task group progress, approves the biennial programme of work and the budget, and provides guidance to the IPEEC Secretariat.

Learn more about IPEEC’s current committee chairs here, or click here to learn more about IPEEC’s members. IPEEC members elect the committee chairs and vice-chairs every two years through a dedicated nomination process.


Policy Committee leadership in recent years

Chairs Vice chairs
European Union (Current, 2016-18) China, France, Germany, India, USA (Current, 2016-18)
Mexico (2014-16) China, India, Italy, Japan, USA (2014-16)
Canada (2012-14) Italy, France, Japan, USA, China (2012-14)
United States (2011-12) Brazil, China, Germany (2011-2013)
United States (2010-11) Brazil, China, Germany, Russia (2009-12)
United States (2009-10) Italy (2009-12), India (2009-13)
Executive Committee leadership in recent years

Chairs Vice chairs
United States (Current, 2015-17) Australia, Canada, China, India and Japan (Current, 2015-17)
France (2013-15) China, India, Japan and the United States (2013-15)
India (2011-14) France, Japan and the United States (2011-13)
Japan (2009-11) France and the United States (2009-11)