Super-Efficient Equipment and ApplianceDeploy ment initiative (SEAD)

Please visit the new Appliances and Equipment page 

SEAD is an initiative of the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM) and an IPEEC Task Group. At its core, SEAD is about governments saving energy, turning knowledge into action, and advancing global markets to encompass energy efficient products.

SEAD’s 17 participating governments[1] accelerate and strengthen the design and implementation of energy efficient appliance policies. SEAD promotes the manufacture, purchase, and use of more energy efficient products including common appliances, equipment, lighting, and other electronic devices.

Through high quality research and technical analyses, SEAD develops tools and product databases to implement program changes. SEAD accelerates market transformation through three key program strategies: Research & Analysis, Implementation & Training, and Dialogue & Collaboration.

Research & Analysis provides member governments with access to high quality research and expertise around a variety of product areas and market transformation policies.

Implementation & Training drives high quality, high efficiency products into markets by building tools and campaigns, and testing and awarding products for efficiency.

Dialogue & Collaboration fosters peer-to-peer exchange between policymakers to drive collaboration and the sharing of policy best practices and technical information.

SEAD initiative’s most significant accomplishments in 2016 include:

  • Launch of the Advanced Cooling Challenge at CEM7 in May 2016, which urges governments and industry to develop and deploy at scale super-efficient, smart, climate-friendly and affordable cooling techniques that are critical for prosperous and healthy societies.
  • Establishment of the SEAD Policy Exchange Forum (SPEx), which promotes open and candid discussions among policy-makers from all of the SEAD member governments. SEAD held SPEx Forums on multiple benefits and the role of appliance efficiency programmes in intended nationally determined contributions (INDCs).
  • Launch of the sixth Global Efficiency Medal competition in September 2016, which will recognise the world’s most energy efficient industrial and outdoor lighting products. Medals will be awarded in two categories: high and low bay luminaries, and street lighting luminaries. Winners are expected to be announced in May or June 2017.
  • Joint development by CLASP and India’s Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE) of a mobile application to give consumers on-demand access to easily compare labelled products before making a purchasing decision. The application was launched on 14 December 2015 and is available on iOS, Android and Windows mobile platforms.

If all SEAD governments adopted best practices for product energy efficiency standards, 2,000 TWh of annual electricity could be saved in 2030, equal to the energy generated by 650 mid-sized power plants. These measures would decrease CO2 emissions over the next two decades by 11 billion tons.

By 2030, policy measures taken by SEAD’s member governments between Jan. 1, 2010 and Dec. 31, 2015 are expected to save around 727 TWh of electricity each year — equivalent to the annual electricity production of over 240 mid-sized coal-fired power plants.

2017 Goals:

  • Promoting initiatives like the Global Efficiency Medal competition for outdoor and industrial lighting and the CEM Advanced Cooling Challenge
  • Hosting SPEx webinars
  • Expanding and tracking the CEM Global Lighting Challenge and SEAD Street Lighting Procurement Tool; and
  • Continuing support for country-specific technical exchanges.

Why do appliances and equipment matter for energy efficiency?

Membership and governance

Leading members: the United States and India.
Participants: Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, the European Union (EU), Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sweden, the United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom.


[1] SEAD is a multilateral, voluntary effort among Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, the European Commission, Germany, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, and the United States.